English / Deutsch

The Present In Drag

About

That was great. You learned that ... ​you exist online, but your ass still hurts and grinds. Whenever you feel closest to “you,” you’re actually in drag. You practice mindfulness, but you are in deep debt. The promotional emails in your inbox contain the emotional language that’s missing in your personal life. Official narratives stopped working for you, so you built your own. You wonder: Can markets emote? Are corporations people? You’re a discerning consumer of culture, but you know that none of this will last.

Titled The Present in Drag and curated by the New York collective DIS (Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso, and David Toro), the exhibition made tangible the digital conditions and paradoxes that increasingly impact the world in 2016. At the four stationary venues—Akademie der Künste on Pariser Platz, ESMT European School of Management and Technology, The Feuerle Collection, and KW Institute for Contemporary Art—along with the mobile Blue-Star sightseeing boat, artists and influential figures from other disciplines such as music, philosophy, hacktivism, design, politics, and economics examined and engaged with the conditions defining the post-contemporary. Collaborative partnerships and collective processes played a quintessential role. Almost all works in the exhibition were specifically produced for the 9th Berlin Biennale.

The 9th Berlin Biennale featured additional platforms to the exhibition venues: The Fear of Content section on the website enabled interested viewers to follow the Berlin Biennale from abroad through a continuous feed of articles, interviews, and digital projects. The website of the 9th Berlin Biennale remains accessible. As the soundtrack of the 9th Berlin Biennale, Anthem features collaborations between artists and musicians, which are available as vinyl singles and can be streamed online. LIT, based on the advertising panels of large-format light boxes and the visual codes of duty-free shops, formed one of several “exhibitions within the exhibition.” Contributions to Not in the Berlin Biennale were not on display in the exhibition, but were elements of a comprehensive communications strategy conceived to operate as a protective skin around the vital organs of the exhibition.

A total of 288 participants presented their contributions within the 9th Berlin Biennale, which received widespread national and international media attention throughout the entire run of the exhibition.

Curators

DIS (Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso and David Toro)

9th Berlin Biennale, 4.6.–18.9.2016; DIS, curatorial team; photo: Sabine Reitmaier

Visual identity
Meiré und Meiré

From the catalog

The Present in Drag

As a theme, “the present” strikes a slightly desperate tone. Like a spin-class instructor trying to power through a massive hangover. Exhibitions have increasingly come to resemble TED Talks—theaters of competence. There is a pleasure principle at play, not too different from disaster films or horror movies. People clutch their tote bags a little tighter when they hear the phrases “big data,” “filter-bubble,” “post-internet,” and “anthropocene” amplified through the venue speakers.

Welcome to the post-contemporary. The future feels like the past: familiar, predictable, immutable—leaving the present with the uncertainties of the future. Is Donald Trump going to be president? Is wheat poisonous? Is Iraq a country? Is France a democracy? Do I like Shakira? Am I suffering from depression? Are we at war?

It is the present that is unknowable, unpredictable, and incomprehensible—forged by a persistent commitment to a set of fictions. There is nothing particularly realistic about the world today. A world in which investing in fiction is more profitable than betting on reality. It is this genre shift from sci-fi to fantasy that makes it inspiring, open, up for grabs, non-binary. The supergroup(s) of artists and collaborators that we have mobilized are not fatigued but energized by this uncertainty. In this climate anyone can begin to build an alternative present, reconfigure failed narratives, decipher meaning from continual flux.

So we imagine the city of Berlin driven by these energies. Pariser Platz is our point of departure. An iconic tourist trap, it is the site where Michael Jackson once dangled his baby from his Adlon Hotel balcony in a private-public performance that anticipated the throngs of selfie sticks that now frame every historical site in Berlin. This square is surrounded by largely unseen networks of corporate and national power: it’s where Lockheed Martin, Allianz Stiftungsforum, DZ Bank, and BP Europa SE reside alongside the US and French embassies.

The common tools of visual and political persuasion—variously employed by state and market, left and right, art and commerce—swarm both the biennial as institution and “art” as a category of cultural production. The 9th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art materializes the paradoxes that make up the world in 2016: the virtual as the real, nations as brands, people as data, culture as capital, wellness as politics, happiness as GDP, and so on.

The age of the customizable sneaker, political narrowcasting, algorithmic taste, and individuated diet regimes has splintered the universal into a multiplicity of differences. Just as the figure of the individual seems to loom larger than ever, her individuality has been busted up and shattered into fragments by countervalent, contradictory forces. The 9th Berlin Biennale will create a stage for this actor of the self to roleplay her own obsolescence.

Our proposition is simple: Instead of holding talks on anxiety, let’s make people anxious. Rather than organizing symposia on privacy, let’s jeopardize it. Let’s give a body to the problems of the present where they occur so as to make them a matter of agency—not spectatorship.

Instead of unmasking the present, this is The Present in Drag.

Events

Projects

Link zur Webseite

bb9.berlinbiennale.de
State: 18.9.2016

English / Deutsch

The Present In Drag

Über

"Das war großartig. Du hast gelernt, dass ... Du zwar online lebst, Du Dir aber trotzdem ständig den Arsch aufreißt. Wann immer Du Dich „Dir selbst“ am nächsten fühlst, bist Du eigentlich in Drag. Du übst Dich in Achtsamkeit, aber Du bist tief verschuldet. Die Werbemails in Deinem Posteingang enthalten die emotionale Sprache, die es in Deinem Privatleben nicht gibt. Offizielle Erzählweisen stimmen für Dich nicht mehr, Du hast Dir Deine eigenen zurechtgelegt. Du fragst Dich: Können Märkte etwas empfinden? Sind Unternehmen auch Menschen? Du bist ein/e anspruchsvolle/r KulturkonsumentIn, aber Du weißt, dass nichts davon bestehen bleiben wird."
(Auszug aus der Publikation The Present in Drag zur 9. Berlin Biennale)

Die von dem New Yorker Kollektiv DIS (Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso und David Toro) kuratierte Ausstellung machte unter dem Titel The Present in Drag die digitalen Konditionen und die Paradoxien greifbar, die die Welt im Jahr 2016 zunehmend prägten. An den vier fixen Ausstellungsorten Akademie der Künste am Pariser Platz, ESMT European School of Management and Technology, The Feuerle Collection und KW Institute for Contemporary Art sowie auf dem mobilen Fahrgastschiff Blue-Star setzten sich Künstler*innen gemeinsam mit Akteur*innen anderer Disziplinen wie Musik, Philosophie, Hacktivismus, Design, Politik und Ökonomie mit den Bedingungen der Post-Gegenwart auseinander. Kooperationen und kollektives Arbeiten bildeten dabei einen Schwerpunkt. Fast alle Arbeiten der Ausstellung wurden eigens für die 9. Berlin Biennale produziert.

Neben den Ausstellungsorten waren weitere Plattformen Spielorte der 9. Berlin Biennale: Auf der Website konnten Interessierte in der Sektion Fear of Content – einem kontinuierlichen Feed aus Aufsätzen, Interviews und digitalen Projekten – die 9. Berlin Biennale auch von außerhalb verfolgen. Die Berlin-Biennale-Website bleibt auch nach Ende der 9. Berlin Biennale bestehen. Anthem versammelt Kooperationen von Künstler*innen und Musiker*innen zum Soundtrack dieser Biennale, der als Vinylsingle erhältlich ist sowie online gestreamt werden kann. LIT bildete eine von mehreren „Ausstellungen in der Ausstellung“ und nahm auf den Werbeflächen großer Leuchtkästen die visuellen Codes eines Duty-free-Shops an. Die Beiträge zu Not in the Berlin Biennale wurden nicht in der Ausstellung gezeigt, sondern waren Elemente einer umfassenden Kommunikationsstrategie und legten sich wie eine schützende Haut um die vitalen Organe der Ausstellung.

Insgesamt präsentierten 288 Teilnehmer*innen ihre Beiträge bei der 9. Berlin Biennale, die über die gesamte Laufzeit national und international von einer breiten medialen Aufmerksamkeit begleitet wurde.

Kurator*innen

DIS (Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso und David Toro)

9. Berlin Biennale, 4.6.–18.9.2016; DIS, kuratorisches Team; Foto: Sabine Reitmaier

Visuelles Erscheinungsbild
Meiré und Meiré

Katalogauszug

The Present in Drag

Ein leicht verzweifelter Ton schwingt bei dem Thema "Gegenwart“ mit. Er erinnert an eine Spinning-Trainerin, die trotz eines massiven Katers versucht, noch durchzupowern. Ausstellungen gleichen zunehmend TED Talks – Kompetenzarenen. Es ist ein Lustprinzip im Spiel, ähnlich wie bei Katastrophenfilmen oder Horrorstreifen. Die Leute drücken ihre Tragetaschen etwas fester an sich, wenn sie, durch Lautsprecheranlagen verstärkt, die Ausdrücke "Big Data“, "Filterblase“, "Post-Internet“ und "Anthropozän“ zu hören bekommen.

Willkommen in der Post-Gegenwart. Die Zukunft fühlt sich wie die Vergangenheit an: vertraut, vorhersagbar, unveränderlich – und die Gegenwart steht mit den Unwägbarkeiten der Zukunft alleine da. Wird Donald Trump Präsident? Ist Weizen giftig? Ist der Irak ein Land? Ist Frankreich eine Demokratie? Mag ich Shakira? Leide ich an Depressionen? Sind wir im Krieg?

Es ist eine Gegenwart, die man nicht kennen, nicht vorhersagen, nicht verstehen kann. Sie ist dem Beharren auf etlichen Fiktionen entsprungen. Nichts an der heutigen Welt ist besonders realistisch; einer Welt, in der es sich mehr lohnt, in Fiktionen zu investieren, als auf die Realität zu setzen. Diese Genreverschiebung von Science-Fiction zu Fantasy macht sie inspirierend, offen, verfügbar und nicht-binär. Die Supergruppe(n) von Künstler*innen und Mitwirkenden, die wir mobilisiert haben, ist von dieser Ungewissheit nicht überfordert, sondern inspiriert. In einem solchen Klima kann jeder beginnen, eine alternative Gegenwart zu errichten, missglückte Erzählungen umzugestalten, Bedeutung aus dem endlosen Fluss von Bedeutungen herauszulesen.

Wir stellen uns Berlin als Stadt vor, die von diesen Energien angetrieben wird. Ausgangspunkt ist der Pariser Platz. Als ikonische Touristenfalle schon Kult, ist es der Ort, an dem seinerzeit Michael Jackson sein Baby vom Balkon des Adlon-Hotels baumeln ließ und mit dieser so privaten wie öffentlichen Performance die Unmengen von Selfie-Stangen erahnen ließ, die mittlerweile jede Sehenswürdigkeit in Berlin ins Visier nehmen. Der Platz ist umgeben von einem weitgehend unsichtbaren Netzwerk staatlicher und wirtschaftlicher Mächte: Hier residieren Lockheed Martin, das Allianz Stiftungsforum, die DZ Bank und BP Europa SE in direkter Nachbarschaft zu den Botschaften der USA und Frankreichs.

Die gängige Sprache visueller und politischer Einflussnahme – von Staaten und Märkten, Linken und Rechten, Kunst und Kommerz nach Belieben eingesetzt – überströmt sowohl die Biennale als Institution sowie die "Kunst“ als Kategorie der Kulturproduktion. Die 9. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst zeigt die Paradoxien, die die Welt 2016 ausmachen: Virtuelles als Reales, Nationen als Marken, Menschen als Daten, Kultur als Kapital, Wellness als Politik, Glück als BIP und so weiter.

Im Zeitalter des personalisierbaren Sneakers, des politischen Narrowcasting, des algorithmisch ermittelten Geschmacks und der individuell zugeschnittenen Diätpläne ist das Universelle in eine Vielzahl von Unterschieden aufgesplittert. In dem Moment, da sich die Gestalt des Individuums zu nie gesehener Größe zu erheben scheint, wird die Individualität durch widersprüchliche, gegensätzliche Kräfte zerstört und in Fragmente zersplittert. Dieser Figur des Selbst bereitet die 9. Berlin Biennale eine Bühne, auf der sie ihre eigene Obsoleszenz durchspielen kann.

Unser Vorschlag ist einfach: Statt Vorträge über Ängste abzuhalten, lasst uns die Leute erschrecken. Statt Symposien über die Privatsphäre zu veranstalten, lasst sie uns aufs Spiel setzen. Lasst uns die Probleme der Gegenwart dort materialisieren, wo sie geschehen, und sie zu einer Sache des Handelns – nicht des Zuschauens – machen.

Die Gegenwart wird nicht entblößt. Das ist The Present in Drag.

Veranstaltungen

Projekte

Link zur Webseite

bb9.berlinbiennale.de
Stand: 18.9.2016